Revolution 2.3 Brings a Revamped Manager User Experience and Much More

by YJ Tso

Published on July 15, 2014

Today we proudly announce the release of the long-awaited MODX Revolution 2.3. This is a huge release incorporating more than a thousand commits by dozens of code contributors and translators, and countless bug reporters.

Revolution 2.3 features a refined and updated MODX Manager with an all-new theme based on Peter Knight’s design. In 2.3, you can build and manage your sites faster in its user friendly and less intimidating workspace. Revolution 2.3 also introduces the überbar, which provides Manager users with global search within Resources, Elements and Users. Now, whatever you’re looking for is at your fingertips without having to touch your mouse.

We have tried our best to encourage Extras authors to make sure their Extras are compatible with 2.3, however, some may not have been tested. Before upgrading or starting a new project in Revolution 2.3, please review the list of Extras confirmed to work with 2.3.

Highlights of Revolution 2.3

As mentioned before, this is a significant release. Here’s a few key highlights of Revo 2.3

  • Updated and streamlined MODX Manager User Experience including:
    • Noticeably faster page and screen loading / more performant ExtJS DOM
    • New überbar to find any Resource, Element or User by a variety of criteria
    • All new default Manager theme with Gravatar support
    • New Manager theme customization workflow using Sass
    • Open Manager Views in Tabs or New Windows
  • A slew of improvements and new features including:
    • Custom Headers for Content Types
    • FontAwesome icons replace PNGs in the Manager UI
    • Open objects like Resources or Elements in new Tabs or Windows for a multi-tabbed workspace
    • Updated languages from our many translators and proofreaders thanks to moving to Crowdin for group translations
    • Five new manager translations added: Chinese, Finnish, Indonesian, Romanain, Danish and Belarusian
    • Full-screen Media Browser
    • Security patches from all 2.2.x releases
    • Hundreds of bugfixes, enhancements and more
  • For a complete list of changes view the changelog

Thanks to the Contributors

Lets give thanks to those whose code and pull requests were integrated into this release: danyaPostfactum, Daniel Melo (danielmelo89) , enigmatic-user, JP Devries (jpdevries), John Peca (TheBoxer), Jason Coward (opengeek), Garry Nutting (garryn), exside, Jiri Pavlicek (jiripavlicek), Mark Hamstra (Mark-H), Luk (exside), Petri Rautianen (the-dunnock), Romain Tripault (rtripault) Menno Pietersen, (DESIGNfromWITHIN), Ivan Klimchuk (Alroniks), Mike Reid (pixelchutes), Christian Seel (christianseel), David Pede (davidpede), Rico (goldsky), Ryan Thrash (rthrash), Alexey (Qwarble), Joakim Nyman (fractalwolf), Zaigham Rana (zaigham), Peter Knight (eladnova), Oliver Haase-Lobinger (mindeffects), Thomas Gautvedt (OptimusCrime), Gildas Noel (krismas), Thomas D (thomasd), vasia123, Jeroen Kenters (jkenters), Andrey Grachov (grachov), Jacqbus, Gleb Stiblo (UlfR), Richard (Ketziel), smanu85, Liam Kerr (tehsquidge), Dmitry Ponomarev (earthperson), Kreuder (mkay), Bert Oost (bertoost), argnist, Rimas Kudelis (rimas-kudelis), Steve Morgan (StevenMorgan), okyanet, and Bob Ray (BobRay).

We certainly don’t want to leave any contributors out. If we did, please let us know and we’ll add you promptly. We truly appreciate all you’ve done to help out.

Get Started with Revo 2.3

Here’s what you need to get started or upgrade to MODX Revolution 2.3:

It Takes a Village

MODX is only as good as it is because of many individual community members and users that take the time to report issues and request new features. Make sure you read the documentation, post feedback and share your successes in the MODX community forums.

On behalf of the entire MODX Team,
Thank-you!

Millions Rely on MODX

In 2005, MODX could power a fully mobile-responsive website using HTML5 and CSS3, even though those technologies weren’t invented yet. And with MODX today, you’re ready not only for what you need now but also what comes next.

Try MODX Right Now